Ben Plozza has received the Laurie Lavell award for contribution to industry a the AFAC awards ceremony in Melbourne tonight for his work on fit for purpose vehicles.

As readers would know, the Association of Volunteer Bush Fire Brigades (AVBFB) has been working hard for literally years to create a process that engages the end users in the design and development process of fire vehicles.

After finally making that happen with the support of Commissioner Darren Klemm and AC Brad Delavale, Ben was asked to provide his expert knowledge and, well, we are so very proud to see him receive this prestigious award for recognition of all the effort he has contributed to fixing a very broken system.

AVBFB President Dave Gossage, Laurie Lavelle award winner and Shire of Coorow Bush Fire Volunteer Ben Plozza and AVBFB Vice President Phil Penny at the 2019 AFAC Awards night

We know that AFAC doesn’t include membership representatives from the Bush Fire Service and understand that’s why he’s been called a “DFES Volunteer” at the awards night, but we all know he’s a proud local government bush fire volunteer to the core and either way, thank Ben for all his hard work and support for our amazing diverse service.

Well done Ben! And thanks DFES for acknowledging the work of our amazing members.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email